• Money Myths
  • Posts
  • šŸ’°Ready to organize your finances this year? [FREE net worth template]

šŸ’°Ready to organize your finances this year? [FREE net worth template]

This is Money Myths - the money newsletter where youā€™ll learn to gain control of your money so you can stop living in chaos!

Financial Clarity Starts Here.

On todayā€™s agenda:

  • I need money advice

  • money myth of the week

  • mini money message

  • dad joke of the week

I need money advice šŸ¤·šŸ»ā€ā™‚ļø

Ever wish you could ask someone else what theyā€™d do in your financial situation? Nowā€™s your chance! Send in your situation and get a CPAā€™s perspective.

Scenario: Iā€™ve owned my business for nearly a decade and its become a mess. I use Quickbooks desktop and onlineā€¦so needless to say my books are a mess. My bank accounts are commingled. I donā€™t know what Iā€™m spending. My tax return is always tricky. Iā€™m over the confusion but donā€™t know where to start with cleaning this up. Itā€™s all Iā€™ve known.

What Iā€™d do:

These are my favorite situations! Here is a step by step on organizing your finances:

1. connect your bank accounts to YNAB so you can start seeing what is personal vs business spending

2. create a cash budget in YNAB based on where you think you spend your money

3. allocate the cash you have based on your immediate needs

4. prepare your net worth (get your template here)

5. combine your quickbooks versions to online

After you observe what is business vs. personal in YNAB, youā€™ll be able to open a personal account and transfer money out of the business for your personal needs.

I hope this helps!

Have a financial situation you want help with? Reply to this email šŸ˜ŠšŸ˜Š

Money myth of the week

I donā€™t need to track my net worth.

When you talk about wanting to retire or become wealthy, you are talking about your net worth.

This is essentially accumulating enough assets to be able to live off of your assets (or convert them to passive income).

I actually find shifting from an income maximization approach to a net worth maximization approach helps clients see that your financial situation is much more important than how much you make.

Remember - if you make $1M and spend $1M, youā€™re broke.

Yeaā€¦this is net worth in action.

An automated tool like Empower could do this for you, or you can use my old fashioned excel template.

PS. I prefer excel cuz I donā€™t have to worry about connections working and I have a way to save/see growth over time.

Mini money message šŸ“²

@backpocketcpa

What are you doing to make sure youā€™re aligned to hit your financial goals for 2023? #personalfinance #savingmoney #mrr #creditcards #busi... See more

Tell me your best dad joke šŸ¤£

What do you call a fish wearing a bowtie?

Sofishsticated.

Got any dad jokes to share? Let ā€˜em rip by responding to this email. šŸ˜œ

Thatā€™s it for today.

Weā€™ll see you next week!

And if you enjoyed Money Myths, send it to a friend who would benefit from this content šŸ¤“