• Money Myths
  • Posts
  • 💰Pay your credit cards the right way

💰Pay your credit cards the right way

This is Money Myths - the money newsletter where you’ll learn to gain control of your money so you can stop living in chaos!

Financial Clarity Starts Here.

On today’s agenda:

  • I need money advice

  • money myth of the week

  • mini money message

  • dad joke of the week

I need money advice 🤷🏻‍♂️

Ever wish you could ask someone else what they’d do in your financial situation? Nows your chance! Send in your situation and get a CPA’s perspective.

Scenario: I used a credit card for a $15,000 family vacation because we hadn’t been on one in a long time. After that, we decided to move which cost $10,000 and I didn’t have the cash so I used the credit card again. I received an offer to consolidate my debts and pay 0% APR for 6 months. I have 3 months left and have made zero progress on my credit card. What should I do?

What I’d do:

This is a tough situation!

You don’t want to be dinged with all of the interest, but also as you can see it’s hard to make progress on your cards when you just keep shuffling them around.

I wouldn’t play the credit card shuffle anymore and would buckle down and work hard to pay off that credit card.

It’s going to be painful to see how much interest you are paying, but you’ve gotta get it done.

I’d also get on a budget, assign a job to my money and manage my P&L very tight so that all excess cash can go toward this debt.

Remember, budgeting is not restrictive - it’s just assigning an intentional way to spend your money.

Good luck - I believe in you!

Have a financial situation you want help with? Reply to this email 😊😊

Money myth of the week

I only need to pay the minimum balance on my credit card.

Don’t fall into this trap!

You must pay the statement balance to avoid paying interest and fees on your credit card!

If you pay the minimum balance, you will find yourself in credit card debt rather quickly.

A rule of thumb with credit cards: Only use them if you have the cash to make the purchase.

Otherwise you’re playing with fire and waiting to get burned.

Mini money message 📲

@backpocketcpa

Are you paying your credit cards correctly? #budgeting #creditcarddebttips #creditcarddebtrelief #greenscreen #credittips

Tell me your best dad joke 🤣

My wife said I should do lunges to stay in shape. That would be a big step forward.

Got any dad jokes to share? Let ‘em rip by responding to this email. 😜

Thats it for today.

We’ll see you next week!

And if you enjoyed Money Myths, send it to a friend who would benefit from this content 🤓